Malta - Introduction

country: Malta

University tertiary education is primarily provided by the University of Malta in ten faculties and a number of centres and institutes. The University awards both undergraduate and postgraduate degrees up to doctorate level (first, second and third cycle levels).

The Malta College of Arts, Science and Technology (MCAST) is the institution providing non-university tertiary education. By means of Act XIII of 2006 which amended the Education Act of 1988, MCAST has been accorded the status of a higher education institution and can award degrees mainly in the vocational sphere. Currently, it is awarding the Higher National Diploma, Level 4 in conjunction with Edexcel/British Business and Technology Education Council (BTEC).

A number of well-organised tuition centres provide tuition locally as well as through electronic or ordinary mail while offering facilities to students generally on a part-time evening basis but sometimes also on a full-time service. These tuition centres (Note: they only provide access to courses offered by foreign institutions) act as agencies to foreign universities and they specialise in one or two branches of learning, very often leading to professional qualifications, such as a Masters in Business Administration and banking and insurance diplomas.

For further details about tertiary education refer to the subsections below.

Please note that the ages in this diagram do not match the other diagram in the separate attachment – PhD goes up to age 26. ISCED level 6 is not included in the above and in the other diagram. These diagrams should match the information we gave in the Eurydice report.

Eurydice - the information network on education in Europe

Date: 2009
Privacy Policy